Although there are definite records to suggest a tennis club, referred to as Chapel Field Lawn Tennis Ground, existed on the present site between 1893 and 1903, it is probable that tennis was played here for some years prior to this
The club offers a very modern and professional amenity to members together with the almost unique experience (for Ireland) of playing on the red clay more associated with the continent and specifically the French Open.
The club is probably the only one of it's kind in Ireland in that all heating and hot water requirements of the clubhouse are provided by sustainable means via an Air to Water Heat Pump and Solar Collectors. The club facilities are fully wheelchair accessable.
A cricket club, Clanwilliam Cricket Club, had leased what had been a 9 acre field for 12 shillings a year between 1877 and 1884, after which it dissolved as a club. Rosanna Lawn Tennis Club was founded a short distance away, in 1879, on land surrendered by the convent. Considerable unrest followed, especially in 1886 around the time of the First Home Rule Bill, and this possibly explains the emergence of another club, in St Michael's Street, around this time.
Membership of the tennis club was quite restricted in the early days. Catholics were not welcome until the 1950s; officers in the army and police and landed gentry made up up the bulk of the membership and it was considered no place for children.
The first tournament, consisting of a singles event for men and women, was held in 1926. Mixed doubles was added in 1929 with men's and ladies doubles beginning in 1936 and 1946 respectively. With the exception of 1933, a tournament has been held every year. The national Claycourt Championsips were held at the Club in 2007 & 2008
The club became affiliated to the Irish Lawn Tennis Association(now Tennis Ireland) in 1915 and one of its most esteemed members, C.O.M.S.(Gregor)Mansergh, served as president of the I.L.T.A. in 1947.
The present clay surface dates back 60 years or so. The lower grass court was changed in 1949 with the other two being converted in 1951. Cinders, a by-product of coal burning steam engines, were brought in from Limerick Junction. The clay came from England. This lengthened the season by several months as clay was considered an all-weather surface. High Grade court floodlighting was added in 1995.
The club was fully modernised in 2008-2009 when a completely new Club Bar was constructed together with a totally refurbished Clubhouse and Russell Pavilion. This development had a fully sustainable focus which eliminates the use of fossil fuels from the site. All works related to this project were designed by Local Architect Robert Cummins. (Cummins + Voortman) The updated facility was officially opened by Martin Mansergh Minister for State in 2009.
Playing tennis on clay is different to all other surfaces. Fast but not harsh under foot and forgiving most times, clay is mostly an all weather surface, save for extremes of wet and cold.
Visitors Book - Anonymous...a little piece of heaven in the heart of Tipperary Town, a true gem!
Visitors Book - Anonymous... had a great time at the Munster Senior Open Claycourt Championships. Courts are superb and the craic was great at the post tournament Bar-B-Que!